Australian High Commission
Republic of Kenya

About us

About the Australian High Commission in Kenya

Head of Mission

HE John Feakes, Australian High Commissioner to Kenya


The Australian High Commission in Kenya is also accredited to Burundi, Rwanda, Somalia, Tanzania and Uganda, as well as the East African Community (EAC), the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP), and the United Nations Human Settlements Programme (UN-Habitat). It is also a friend of the International Conference of the Great Lakes Region (ICGLR).

To see the speeches given by the High Commissioner, please click here.

Contact Information

Email: (General enquiries) (Immigration enquiries) (Consular enquiries - For Australian Citizens ONLY. NOT for visa enquiries)


Twitter: @AusHCKenya

FacebookAustralia in East Africa on Facebook
TwitterAustralian High Commission in Kenya on Twitter

Street address:  Riverside Drive (400m off Chiromo Road), Nairobi

Postal address:  P.O. Box 39341-00623, Nairobi, Kenya

Telephone Numbers

Main High Commission Number:  (254-20) 4277 100

Immigration and Visa Enquiries: (254-20) 4277 160

Fax Numbers

Main High Commission:  (254-20) 4277 139

Department of Immigration and Border Protection (DIBP): (254-20) 4277 189


Australian Consulate in Uganda

Honourary Consul - Patrick Bitature

Physical Address: Plot 22, CNOOC Building, 3rd floor, Left wing. Acacia Avenue (Next to Khana Khazana)

Postal Address: P.O. Box 9421, Kampala, Uganda
Phone: +256 (0) 39 3515865
Fax: +256 414 344 149
Working hours: Mondays to Fridays 9.00 am to 12.30 p.m and 2.00 p.m to 5.00 p.m


Australian Consulate in Tanzania

Honourary Consul - Thierry Murcia

Physical Address: Plot No. 431, Mahando Street, Msasani Peninsular
Postal Address: P. O. Box 105589, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Phone: (+255) 22 260 2584
Fax: (+255) 22 260 1809


Opening Hours

The High Commission is open from 7.45am to 4.30pm Monday to Thursday  and 7.45am to 12 noon on Friday, except for public holidays (see below).

Entry into the Australian High Commission for visa, immigration and citizenship matters is by appointment only. 

Parking: Please note that the Australian High Commission in Nairobi does not have visitor parking, however the closest parking is at the Chiromo Funeral Parlour 400m from the chancery.

Most applicants in Kenya now need to submit visa applications and provide biometrics at the Australian Visa Application Centre. Click here for further details.

To make an appointment, please call or email the Immigration Section.  

Visa office contact details and opening hours

Public Holidays

In 2016 the High Commission will be closed on:

  • Friday 1 January - New Year's Day
  • Friday 25 March – Good Friday
  • Monday 28 March– Easter Monday
  • Monday 25 April – Anzac Day
  • Monday 2 May – Labour Day in lieu
  • Wednesday 1 June – Madaraka Day
  • Thursday 7 July – Idd ul-Fitr (subject to date confirmation by Kenyan Gazetta)
  • Thursday 20 October – Mashujaa Day
  • Monday 12 December - Jamhuri Day
  • Monday 26 December -  Boxing Day
  • Tuesday 27 December - Chirstmas Day in Lieu
  • Wednesday 28 December - Additional DFAT Holiday
  • Thursday 29 December - Additional DFAT holiday
  • Friday 30 December – Additional DFAT holiday

 Job Vacancies and Tenders

Jobs and Tenders